Who are the Wall Street protesters?

Click on We Are the 99 Percent for more stories of Occupy Wall Street protesters.

Here’s how Mike Konczal sums up these stories.

The people … aren’t demanding to bring democracy into the workplace via large-scale unionization, much less shorter work days and more pay.  They aren’t talking the language of mid-twentieth century liberalism, where everyone puts on blindfolds and cuts slices of pie to share.  The 99% looks too beaten down to demand anything as grand as “fairness” in their distribution of the economy.  There’s no calls for some sort of post-industrial personal fulfillment in their labor – very few even invoke the idea that a job should “mean something.”  It’s straight out of antiquity – free us from the bondage of our debts and give us a basic ability to survive.

Click on Parsing the Data and Ideology of the We Are the 99% Tumblr for Mike Konczal’s complete analysis on his Rortybomb web log.

Picture added 10/11/11

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Who are the Wall Street protesters?”

  1. sophosmoros Says:

    I have a bachelor’s degree from an Ivy League university. I have a law degree. I graduated from law school in 2001. I still have over $150,000 in student loan debt. Although I have a strong resume, I have not been able to find a job with benefits and a decent salary since passing the bar. I have looked for jobs in three different states. I am now self-employed and enjoying the work, but I work 50-60 hours/week just to make ends meet. My clients aren’t always able to pay me because they are stuck in the same economy as I am. I owe taxes, two mortgages, car payments, etc. Some months I make no money at all. My wife also has a degree from an Ivy League university and she is unemployed. We can’t afford the payments on our state-sponsored health insurance plan. We have a 6 month old baby boy, and it kills me to think that as a well-educated attorney I might not be able to make enough money to feed and clothe him. I am the 99%.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 500 other followers

