William Sloane Coffin on Socrates’ mistake

W.S. Coffin

Rev. William Sloane Coffin

Socrates had it wrong; it is not the unexamined life but finally the uncommitted life that is not worth living.   Descartes too was mistaken, “Cogito ergo sum – I think therefore I am?”  Nonsense,  Amo, ergo sum sum – I love therefore I am.  Or, with the unconscious eloquence St Paul wrote. “Now abide faith, hope, love, these three; and the greatest of these is love.”  I believe that.  I believe that it is better not to live than not to love. 

§§§

Thanks to the Rev. Martha Munson of First Universalist Church of Rochester, N.Y., for this quote from William Sloane Coffin’s Credo (which I haven’t read).

Here’s a review of Credo, here are more quotes, and here’s Coffin’s Wikipedia biography.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

