The passing scene – October 8, 2015

5 Ways Donald Trump Perfectly Mirrors Hitler’s Rise to Power by Adam Tod Brown for Cracked.com.   Yes, I know, I wrote a post a few weeks ago ridiculing those who compare American presidential candidates to Hitler.

I don’t think Donald Trump is a murderous political fanatic.  I think he is a sleazy promoter.  Even so, I think this article brings out some worrisome, if highly speculative, implications of Trump’s ideas

A Short History of U.S. Bombing of Civilian Facilities by Jon Schwartz for The Intercept.  Speaking of Hitler analogies, I don’t think the U.S. government is equivalent to the Nazi regime, but I can remember a time when I and most other Americans believed that bombing hospitals was something that only Nazis and fascists would do.

Drug-Resistant Tuberculosis Is a Global Crisis.  Why Are We Doing So Little to Fight It? by Douglas Foster for The Nation.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “The passing scene – October 8, 2015”

  1. williambearcat Says:

    And the German elite were sure they could control him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

