Trump, the Clintons are fellow rich celebrities

The Clintons at Donald Trump's wedding (2005)

The Clintons at Donald Trump’s wedding reception (2005)

Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump may be political rivals, but they have a long history as social friends.  They’re part of the same circle of rich New York celebrities.

Whatever Trump says now, he used to speak well of both Hillary Clinton and her husband.  As Nick Gass of POLITICO reported:

After declining to enter the presidential race in 2012, Trump told Fox News’ Greta Van Susteren that Clinton had done a great job as secretary of state.

“Hillary Clinton I think is a terrific woman,” he said. “I am biased because I have known her for years. I live in New York. She lives in New York. I really like her and her husband both a lot.  I think she really works hard.  And I think, again, she’s given an agenda, it is not all of her, but I think she really works hard and I think she does a good job.  I like her.”

Asked whether he would support her in the case of a presidential run, Trump said that he did not “want to get into this because I will get myself into trouble.”

“I just like her,” Trump remarked, adding the same of the former president. “I like her husband.  Her husband made a speech on Monday and was very well received.  He is — he is a really good guy, and she’s a really good person and woman.”

Trump sounded a similar note in an October 2013 interview with Larry King, who asked Trump if he thought the former secretary of state would run for the White House a second time, pointing out that she is a “fellow New Yorker.”

“Yeah, and I know her very well. They’re members of my club, and I like both of them very much, and he was with you one time and he said he likes me,” Trump said, adding, “and I do like him.”

Source: POLITICO

Bill Clinton with friends at the Trump National Golf Club (2008)

Bill Clinton, friends at Trump National Golf Club (2008)

I don’t give any significance to Trump’s words except as an indication of how he and the Clintons are part of the same social circle.

It’s perfectly natural for rich celebrities such as the Clintons and the Trumps to hang out together.  They have more in common with each other than they do with me and probably with you.   But at the same time, they’re not going to want political and economic change that threatens people in their inner circle.

Donald Trump talked over his presidential bid with Bill Clinton before he decided to run.  I don’t put any sinister interpretation on this.  I don’t think Trump is a stalking horse for the Clintons.  But it shows how personal relationships are more important to people at the top than political principles.

That’s why people who want fundamental change look to outsiders.  Trump may describe himself as an outsider, but he isn’t one.  Neither is Hillary Clinton.

LINKS

Donald Trump was for the Clintons before he was against them by Nick Gass for POLITICO.

Donald Trump talked politics with Bill Clinton weeks before launching 2016 bid by Robert Costa and Anna Gearen for the Washington Post.  More background on the friendship of Donald Trump and Bill Clinton.

Donald Trump and Bill Clinton: Behind the ‘Bromance’ by Michael Daily for The Daily Beast.  [Added 2016/5/20]

Hillary Clinton and Henry Kissinger: It’s Personal, Very Personal by David Corn for Mother Jones.  [Added 2016/5/20]

We Get It, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush: You’re Friends by Jim Newell for Salon  [Added 2016/5/20]

Bernie Sanders ‘Destroys’ Donald Trump by 13 Points, 6 More Than Clinton.  Here’s Why by H.A. Goodman for The Huffington Post.  The advantage of being a real outsider.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Trump, the Clintons are fellow rich celebrities”

  1. S Brennan Says:

    Whatever Trump thought of Hillary in 2005, it was before Hillary became SoS and turned the Middle East into a blazing inferno at the behest of the demonic forces of Neo-Nuts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

