Questions to be answered

I think that the United States and other Western countries are in a political and economic crisis.

I think that political leaders in the Western world must answer these questions.

authoritarianism9fd18cDoes the economic and political crisis mean that the system has failed?

If the system has failed, is this a failure of capitalism, a failure of democracy or both?

If the failure is a failure of capitalism, can the capitalistic system be fixed, or must it be replaced?

If the failure is a failure of democracy, can the democratic system be fixed, or is it doomed?

I don’t expect these questions to be addressed this year or the next, but I don’t think they can be evaded indefinitely.  I think there will be some sort of resolution, for good or for ill, within the next 10 years.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Questions to be answered”

  1. Yang Ho Says:

    Is the US really in those crises? When I think of crisis, I think about about what you think I think, like this sentence.

    Like

  2. philebersole Says:

    The economic crisis, in my opinion, is that the economic system does not serve the needs or wishes of the majority of the people.

    The political crisis, in my opinion, is that the political system does not serve the needs or wishes of the majority of the people.

    The result is economic stagnation, perpetual war and authoritarian government, which we Americans are coming to accept as normal.

    http://www.salon.com/2016/01/05/controlled_by_shadow_government_mike_lofgren_reveals_how_top_u_s_officials_are_at_the_mercy_of_the_deep_state/

    http://www.truth-out.org/progressivepicks/item/33992-runaway-inequality-is-ripping-us-apart

    Like

  3. John Pennington Says:

    I’m in complete agreement, and I think whether we can recover depends on how well we do at removing the very rich from their controlling status in the halls of political power.

    Like

Leave a Reply

