Some quotations about spirituality

There is no fire like passion.
There is no shark like hatred.
There is no snare like folly.
There is no torrent like greed.
        ==Buddha

I came to the conclusion long ago that all religions were true and also that they all had some error in them, and while I hold by my own religion, I should hold other religions as dear as Hinduism. … Our innermost prayer should be that a Hindu should become a better Hindu, a Muslim a better Muslim and a Christian a better Christian.
        ==Mohandas K. Gandhi

Mike Wallace: All is well?
Jack Kerouac: Yeah, we’re all in heaven, now really.
Wallace:  You don’t sound happy.
Kerouac: Oh, I’m tremendously sad.  I’m in great despair.
Wallace: Why?
Kerouac:  It’s a great burden to be alive. A heavy burden, a great big heavy burden.  I wish I were safe in heaven, dead.
Wallace: But you are in heaven, Jack.  You just said we all were.
Kerouac: Yeah.  If I only knew it.  If I could only hold on to what I now.
        ==New York Post, January 11, 1958

The followers of different religions quarrel about truth because they have never experienced it.  Most of them don’t even try to experience it; they are much happier quarreling, fighting and killing each other.
        ==The Ramayana

[I said to Suzuki Roshi]: “I could listen to you for a thousand years and still not get it.  Could you just please put it in a nutshell? Can you reduce Buddhism to one phrase?” … He was not a man you could pin down, and he didn’t like to give his students something definite to cling to.  He had often said not to have “some idea” of what Buddhism was.  But Suzuki did answer.  He looked at me and said, “Everything changes.”
        ==David Chadwick, quoted in The Sun

∞∞∞

In fact, all these quotations are from The Sun magazine.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

