Donald Trump’s excellent adventure

When Donald Trump phoned his pal Bill Clinton a little over a year ago, and asked his advice about running for President, I doubt that either of them thought that Trump would get as far as he did.

150930093139-bill-clinton-donald-trump-large-169I have no way of knowing Trump’s thinking, but I suspect that he figured that he had everything to gain and nothing to lose.

At worst, he would promote the Trump name and add value to the Trump brand.  At best, he would show up and pay back politicians and journalists who treated his political ambitions as a joke.  Coming in a strong second or third for the Republican nomination would have accomplished that.

But did he think he actually would be nominated?  I’m reminded of the Mel Brooks comedy, The Producers, in which two characters hatch a Trump-esque scheme to make money from a losing Broadway play.   They choose a script, “Springtime for Hitler,” which they think is sure to fail.  But, much to their consternation, it succeeds.

Unlike the Mel Brooks characters, I think Trump will take his own “Springtime for Hitler” production as far as it will go.  But if he loses, which at this point seems likely, I can imagine him sitting down a year or two from now with his friends, the Clintons, and having a good laugh about the whole adventure.

LINKS

Inside the Fraternity of Haters and Losers Who Drove Donald Trump to the GOP Nomination by McKay Coppins for Buzzfeed.  Coppins thinks his ridicule of the idea of a Trump Presidential candidacy may have goaded Trump into actually running.

36 Hours On the Fake Campaign Trail With Donald Trump by McKay Coppins for Buzzfeed (2014).  This is the article that Coppins thinks may have set Trump off.

Donald Trump’s ghostwriter tells all by Jane Mayer for The New Yorker.  Donald Trump as seen through the eyes of the ghostwriter who wrote The Art of the Deal.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Donald Trump’s excellent adventure”

  1. Lisa the Infidel Says:

    So what will you do as a voter this election?

    Like

    • philebersole Says:

      I expect to vote for the Green Party. My second choice would be the Libertarian Party.

      Jill Stein and Gary Johnson would have difficulties in governing (to say the least) but I feel reasonably sure that neither would commit war crimes, crimes against humanity or other kinds of crimes, which is more than I can say for Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa the Infidel Says:

        Who was the last POTUS to not commit any of those crimes?

        Like

      • philebersole Says:

        I don’t regard it as normal to invade and destroy countries that do not threaten us, in order to seize their resources.

        I do not regard it as normal to wage economic warfare, covert warfare, drone assassinations and Special Operations missions against countries that do not threaten us

        I do not regard it as normal for the President of the United States to draw up “kill lists” of supposed enemies based on his own unaccountable judgment based on secret criteria.

        I do not accept imprisonment of people who are neither prisoners of war nor criminal defendants as normal.

        I do not accept advocacy of torture or advocacy of killing of hostages as normal.

        I do not think the people who hold high government or corporate positions should be allowed to commit crimes with impunity.

        I do not believe that any foreign policy objective justifies increasing the risk of nuclear war.

        All this did not spring up overnight, of course. Past precedent is not a justification.

        I have posted my thoughts on these subjects previously, and intend to post some more.

        Like

      • philebersole Says:

        Lisa, you touched a very sensitive nerve with me. I wish I had had sense enough to simply reply that I intended to vote for the Green Party and regarded the Libertarian Party as an acceptable choice, and left it at that, rather than starting an off-topic discussion.

        I see two ways of interpreting your question:

        One is that crimes in high places are normal, and that there has always been something wrong with the USA and its institutions from the beginning.

        The other is that crimes in high places are normal, and that they aren’t worth getting excited about.

        I don’t agree with either.

        I have read Howard Zinn’s PEOPLE’S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES and Oliver Stone’s and Peter Kuznick’s THE UNTOLD HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES, and I recognize that American history is not merely the story of how freedom-loving people fought for freedom and democracy.

        But neither do I regard it as merely the story of how racists oppressed minorities, capitalists oppressed workers and imperialists oppressed foreigners and subject peoples.

        I think that history – not just the history of the United States – shows that the struggle for liberty and justice is unending. It also shows that the struggle can succeed.

        We Americans still have our Constitution. The ideal of liberty under law has not been entirely forgotten. The common people here have more rights than they do is, say, Russia, China or Iran. I can express my opinion on this blog without fear of somebody coming in the night and taking me away.

        That is not to say I should be complacent, or that things that are being done to brown people far away should be ignored, or that the chipping away at fundamental liberties here at home should be ignored.

        One way to defend your rights, including the right to vote, is to exercise them. That is why I refuse to limit my choices to two unacceptable candidates.

        Like

Leave a Reply

