There are other bad apples besides Apple

Somebody named Tony Shin e-mailed me a link to an infographic about the abuse of Chinese sweatshop workers who make components for Apple Computer.  It is well-done and accurate, and that is why I reproduce it below.

[Added 3/15/12.  Perhaps I should have been a little more suspicious.  Click on Mystery of the Infographics for why.]

But I don’t want to single out Apple as if it were greatly different from the world’s other electronics companies or, indeed, any company that outsources to China.  As I type this, I am wearing a shirt “Made in Cambodia”; I doubt the Cambodian workers enjoy better conditions than Foxconn workers in China.

Now the fact that other companies engage in bad practices doesn’t mean that Apple management is not responsible for their own company’s practices.  What it does mean is that nothing is to be gained by boycotting Apple if it just means shifting to Microsoft or Sony or some other company that uses the same suppliers.  In fact, if I were more cynical than I am, I would suspect that some of the campaign against Apple is being orchestrated by Apple’s competitors. [Added 3/15/12.  Maybe I ought to be more cynical.]

As you look at the infographic below, keep in mind that what it depicts is more than the moral blindness of just one company.  It is a whole system of production and distribution that encompasses many companies besides Apple and many nations besides China and the United States.


iKill

Click on iEmpire: Apple’s Sordid Business Practices Are Worse Than You Think for background on Apple Computer and Chinese sweatshops.

Click on Critics Question Record of Fair Labor Association, Apple’s Monitor for why organizations that monitor labor practices should not be funded by the companies they monitor.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “There are other bad apples besides Apple”

  1. Anne Tanner Says:

    Just before the original story came out, I replaced my elderly Apple laptop with another Apple product. I haven’t been able to get myself to configure it and start using it. I know that’s irrational, but I keep thinking of the people whose hands are irreparably damaged because the bosses won’t let them trade positions and use the other hand for a while, or the nets outside the top story of the factory to catch the people attempting suicide. I know other companies can be as bad, but I’m afraid this is my last Apple product. And please, don’t talk to me about Steve Jobs.

    Like

  2. Google search turns up many infographic mentions « Mark Turner dot Net Says:

    […] Look closely and you’ll find a few sent by our friend Tony Shin, too. Here’s another. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.